CHA News

National Framework for Health Data Exchange Now Operational

This post has been archived and contains information that may be out of date.

What’s happening: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) has announced that a framework to support nationwide health data exchange is now operational.  

What else to know: Five organizations are named as qualified health information networks (QHIN) under the Trusted Exchange Framework and Common Agreement (TEFCA).  

ONC has officially designated five QHINs, which can immediately begin supporting the exchange of data under TEFCA’s policies and technical requirements. QHINs are key to TEFCA’s network-to-network exchange, providing shared services and governance to securely route queries, responses, and messages across networks for eligible participants including patients, providers, hospitals, health systems, payers, and public health agencies. 

The following organizations were officially designated as QHINs: 

  • eHealth Exchange 
  • Epic Nexus 
  • Health Gorilla 
  • KONZA 
  • MedAllies