CHA News

Senate, Assembly Leadership Announce Committee Changes

For CEOs, government relations executives

Leadership in both the Senate and Assembly have announced committee memberships for the 2021-22 legislative session. In the Assembly, chairs of committees of key interest for hospitals — including Health, Business and Professions, and Appropriations — remain the same, although there have been changes in sitting members.

Dr. Jim Wood (D-Healdsburg) remains chair of the Health Committee; Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Cupertino) remains chair of the Business and Professions Committee; and Assemblymember Lorena Gonzales (D-San Diego) remains chair of the Appropriations Committee.  

The Assembly also announced the formation of a new committee on Emergency Management, which will be “focused exclusively on the issues of emergencies and disasters … including the issues of fire prevention and suppression, emergency medical services, statewide disaster response, and emergency communication.” It will be chaired by Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona). 

In the Senate, Sen. Susan Eggman (D-Stockton) will be the new chair of Budget Subcommittee #3 on Health and Human Services. Sen. Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), the former chair, will remain a member of the committee and continue to chair the Senate Health Committee. Like the Assembly, other key committee chairs are unchanged, but there are changes in sitting members.