IMPACT Act Resources


On October 6, 2014, the Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation Act of 2014 (IMPACT Act) was signed into law. The Act requires post-acute care (PAC) providers — including long-term care hospitals (LTCHs), skilled-nursing facilities (SNFs), inpatient rehabilitation facilities (IRFs) and home health agencies (HHAs) — to submit standardized data using specific reporting tools.

Click to expand image

CHA News Articles

CMS Opportu/cha-news-article/cms-provides-guides-post-acute-care-and-hospice-quality-reportingnities for Engagement 


​Federal Advocacy

Comment Letters

Data Collection/Reporting

Current Assessment Tools

Patient Assessment Data

PAC providers are required to report standardized and interoperable patient assessment data by October 1, 2018 (SNF, IRF, and LTCH) and January 1, 2018 (HHA). Providers must report this data at admission and discharge of a patient.

Click to expand image

Quality Measures

In addition to patient assessment data, PAC providers must report quality measures and resource use measures in a standardized and interoperable format.

Click to expand image

Standardized Data Element Testing

  • National Beta Test (November 2017-September 2018)
    • Field testing in targeted total of 210 (recruited 169 as of Sept. 18) facilities in 14 markets (Boston, Harrisburg, Philadelphia, Ft. Lauderdale, Durham, Chicago, Nashville, Kansas City, St. Louis, Dallas, Houston, Phoenix, Los Angeles, and San Diego)
    • Report of Findings from the National Beta Test